USAT Duathlon National Championships-Results

Follow this link for the damage (searchable results):

My head is pounding and I’m walking a little stiff-like after competing at the Duathlon National Championships in Bend, Oregon this morning. The weather turned out to be nearly perfect—cool at the start, warm at the finish. The sprint races, which started at 1 p.m., had a rougher time, as temps climbed up to about 80 degrees. And…the oddest thing…a mini twister! Apparently, a mini twister took out a few port-o-potties, tossing crap everywhere, literally. And then it blew over the finish line arch and the bike-out sign. Amazingly, no bikes or bodies were harmed by the mini-twister.

The standard distance races, which started between 7:30 and 8:30 a.m., had none of that. A little bit of gusty wind, but nothing torrential.

I will have more to write when my head stops pounding. In the meantime, here is a pic of yours truly and my friend Cassie, who was my neighbor in transition and finished fifth in our age group!

20160625_064826
It was a little chilly at 6:30 a.m.

Bend is a lovely city. I love the views of the mountains and the river running through. I love the abundance of health food stores. Don’t love the traffic on either 20 or 97, whatever this road is called that my hotel is on. I look forward to coming back next year for Du Nats 2017!

Leave a Reply

