My Annual Canadian Duathlon Primer

Here is a primer on duathlon in Canada, courtesy of athlete Jesse Bauer. Great things happening up north for our sport! My first duathlon Worlds was in Ottawa, 2013. Now we get to return—this time to Penticton, in British Columbia, in 2017. Here’s to forward momentum for Duathlon, for the Canadian team, Team USA, and the rest of our global community.

Jesse Bauer - Duathlete

It seems like every year I am saying that (whatever year it happens to be) is set to be a HUGE year for duathlon in Canada. So I love my sport…sue me. However, I do think we have some pretty wicked momentum going for duathlon in this country over the past several years. I started racing duathlons at what was apparently a low point for the sport in Canada. Elite nationals was a thing of the past, several high profile duathlon-only events were on their way out, and the Ironman bug had everyone convinced that the only real multisport was that one where you have to splash around in a lake or a pool before you get to do the fun part.

However, I am pretty excited about this little bit of an upward trend we have going on right now. We have a pretty vibrant community linked by social…

View original post 1,722 more words

Leave a Reply

